Motorola help in Iraq

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

CPT Lac

Motorola help in Iraq

Post by CPT Lac »

Hey guys - I am an Army communications officer in Iraq. I'm an expert in military communications equipment but I've been given the mission to rebuild Iraqi Security Forces communications structure in a mid-size city. This is all Motorola equipment and I'm learning as I go and I'm looking for a forum to have questions answered since I have new ones every week. The network is a mess right now as I've got an awful mess of VHF and UHF stuff and not enough of any of it. I also think I am dealing with almost every radio Motorola ever conceived of from the beginning of time and need to program all of them. Right now I can program GM340/360 series, GP340/360/660 series, GP308 handhelds and some other non-Motorola stuff(Alinco DR-135 and Vertex VXR-7000 repeater)

Here is my immediate problem. I need to program a CDM1250 radio. I have a RIB-less programming cable for a GM340/360 series. First, will this cable work (the RJ-45 connection looks the same)? Second, where can I get the software to program the CDM1250 radio?

Also, all the cables I have right now are RIB-less. What is the advantage of having a RIB?

Right now I am just trying to setup a common voice network bewteen the Iraqi Police, Iraqi Army, and 2 other security type forces. Once I get this done I will explore some of the other options these radios offer.

WARNING: If you help me I will be back with more questions so make sure you're up for the challenge :)

CPT L
nmfire10
Batboard $upporter

Post by nmfire10 »