SmartZone vs. SmartNet Trunking, whoreflash codes?

This forum is dedicated to discussions pertaining specifically to the Motorola ASTRO line of radios (those that use VSELP/IMBE/AMBE), including using digital modulation, digital programming, FlashPort upgrades, etc. If you have general questions please use the General or Programming forums.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

unleashedff248
1 Warning for RSS/CPS Wanted/For Sale/Links
What radios do you own?: XTL5K, XTS5K & 3K, MCS2K

SmartZone vs. SmartNet Trunking, whoreflash codes?

Post by unleashedff248 »

I'm rather new to trunking, and I recently experienced a switch to a Motorola Type II Smartnet system. I understand the differences between the two (and Omnilink), but I can't for the life of me find an XTS3000 with Smartnet in it's flashcode. This is what I get from the info sheet:

ENH: SOFTWARE SMARTNET SYSTEM H37 326 $1,020.00
ADD: SMARTZONE SYSTEM SOFTWARE H38 326 $1,275.00

All I can seem to find is H38 XTS's. Will these work on a Smartnet system? We have 2 zones with 3 control channels (1 in zone "A", 2 in zone "B"). The system is also analog.

I searched the forum for hours and found nothing. I'm new to the whole XTS series and am still learning a LOT about these radios. Is there a master list with all flashcode options? Mine seems to be lacking at 7-23-04 rev. date.

Also, I hear a lot about FrankenFlashes and WhoreFlashes, along with the lovely NickFlashes (but it seems that I don't want to even go there). From what I gather, if the DSP letter and Host package can handle the flash options, you're good to go. I'm looking at a seemingly infamous 591008-4F1E00-9 flashcode XTS3K. The firmware is R07.03.00, DSPN07.03.12. I think we're good with the radio supporting the flashed features, right?

Last, can these radios be programmed with my stupid HT1000 cable? It's the RIB box version, MOTO genuine. Before I shell out another $178 (RKN4035), I want to make sure I absolutely need to.

Thanks in advance!

-Dave