How well does 700 mhz work

This forum is dedicated to discussions pertaining specifically to the Motorola ASTRO line of radios (those that use VSELP/IMBE/AMBE), including using digital modulation, digital programming, FlashPort upgrades, etc. If you have general questions please use the General or Programming forums.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

efc
What radios do you own?: cdm 1250

How well does 700 mhz work

Post by efc »

Hello,Just wondering,how well does 700 mhz,Astro 25,work in a urban /city area?I have no experience with this band and am wondering about this.Now i realize with enough sites in Astro,it could work well,but i a fairly flat large geographic atea witj a mixture of farm,city,it may prove interesting.

Thanks
John
efc

Re: How well does 700 mhz work

Post by efc »

The above area is about 630 square miles,semi flat terrain with some rolling hills.

Thanks
John
Bill_G

Post by Bill_G »

It works as well as 800M. Got any of that to compare to?
efc

Post by efc »

No,not really,there is a state system,that we do not take care of,and it works so so from hat i hear,but the state pd is primarily on highways,and i am concetned about the building penetration,primarilt those with alot of metal,concrete.An kotorola ho is installing he system withus has identified 39 buildings that are lossy.I am not sure how they will address that unles they use BDAs,or change config of the site antennas.I also realize how well digital works,and am actually going ti Motorola next week for the M core overview class.I guess we will.see.

Thanks
John
Squad5
was mwb9122

Post by Squad5 »